Text Size
Donate

Innovations in Glaucoma Webinar

Friday, January 22, 2021

Register for the Webinar

Advance registration is required. Register now to participate on January 22, 2021.

Understanding Vision Restoration

Featuring Derek Welsbie, MD, PhD and David Calkins, PhD.

Join us for a special glaucoma research webinar on "understanding vision restoration." This informative research presentation features Derek Welsbie, MD, PhD, a principal investigator in the Catalyst for a Cure Vision Restoration Initiative. The webinar is moderated by David Calkins, PhD, the Chair of GRF’s Research Committee and Chair of the Catalyst for a Cure Vision Restoration Scientific Advisory Board.

Friday, January 22, 2021

2:00 PM Pacific Time

3:00 PM Mountain Time
4:00 PM Central Time
5:00 PM Eastern Time

Register now to participate in the free webinar on January 22nd. »


Speaker Bios

Derek Welsbie, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, University of California, San Diego School of Medicine

Derek Welsbie is a board-certified ophthalmologist who has an active medical and surgical practice, specializing in adolescents and adults with all stages of glaucoma. Dr. Welsbie studies the way in which glaucoma leads to optic nerve injury, neurodegeneration and, ultimately, vision loss. His ultimate goal is to develop new medication- and gene therapy-based neuroprotective strategies to interfere with these deleterious genes, prevent nerve cell death and improve outcomes for patients with glaucoma. In early 2019, he joined the Catalyst for a Cure Vision Restoration Initiative as a principal investigator.

David J. Calkins, PhD
Assistant Vice President, Research, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

David Calkins is a leading authority on the neurobiological basis of vision loss in blinding eye disease, neuroprotection and regenerative medicine for conditions that affect the retina and early visual pathways. As well as receiving over 60 research grants from the National Institutes of Health and many industry and foundation partners, Dr. Calkins has written more than 80 research articles, reviews and book chapters. He was a founding member of Glaucoma Research Foundation’s first Catalyst for a Cure team and now Chairs the Catalyst for a Cure Vision Restoration Initiative and GRF’s Research Committee.