Text Size

Photos from the 2017 Glaucoma 360 Annual Gala

The Glaucoma 360 Annual Gala showcases the visionaries and catalysts who share Glaucoma Research Foundation's mission to prevent vision loss from glaucoma by investing in innovative research, education, and support with the ultimate goal of finding a cure.

The Annual Gala includes presentation of The Catalyst Award (Glaucoma Research Foundation's highest honor), the President's Reception and silent auction, the gala dinner, a lively live auction, and a special private performance. This year's performance was by Janette Márquez, who also received the 2017 Visionary Award from Glaucoma Research Foundation.

The Glaucoma 360 Annual Gala took place on February 2, 2017 at the Palace Hotel in San Francisco.

Richard T. Libby, PhD (center) from the University of Rochester Medical School in Rochester, New York was awarded the 2017 Shaffer Prize for Innovative Glaucoma Research at the Annual Gala. He was presented with the award by Thomas M. Brunner (GRF President and CEO) and Dr. James Wise.

The Catalyst Award was presented to Eugene de Juan Jr., MD in recognition of his outstanding leadership and commitment to advancing ophthalmology. Dr. de Juan is Founder and Vice-Chairman of ForSight Labs in Menlo Park, California, and the Jean Kelly Stock Distinguished Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of California, San Francisco.

Amanda Eddy (glaucoma patient and GRF volunteer) introduced the live auction.

KCBS "Foodie Chap" Liam Mayclem hosted the live auction to raise funds for glaucoma research and education.

George Marcellino, PhD joins other guests participating in the live auction.

Gala Co-Chairs Nobuko Saito Cleary and Gary Cleary, PharmD, PhD with GRF Board Chair Andrew Iwach, MD and table guests.

Juanita Herrera and Andrew Huberman, PhD enjoy the President's Reception.

GRF Board members Robert Stamper, MD, Linda Linck, and Charlie Wilmoth.

Left to right: GRF Co-founder H. Dunbar Hoskins, Jr., MD, Board member Adrienne Graves, PhD, and Gary Novack, PhD.

Dr. Eugene de Juan, Jr. with family and friends.

GRF Board members Adrienne Graves, PhD, Andrew Iwach, MD, and Robert Stamper, MD.

Overview of the President's Reception at the Glaucoma 360 Annual Gala - in the Gold Ballroom, Palace Hotel, San Francisco.

The Visionary Award was presented to Janette Márquez, a talented and accomplished opera singer who is blind from congenital glaucoma. Janette sang in a special performance at the Gala.

Photography by Trish Tunney

Last reviewed on October 29, 2017

Was this helpful? Yes No