Text Size

GRF Board Celebrates 35 Years at Annual Dinner

Dunbar Hoskins celebrates with Nobuko and Gary Cleary
Dunbar Hoskins celebrates with Nobuko and Gary Cleary

More than 80 guests and Glaucoma Research Foundation (GRF) Board members gathered at The City Club of San Francisco for the Annual Dinner following the April 30th Board of Directors meeting.

GRF co-founders John Hetherington, Jr., MD and H. Dunbar Hoskins, Jr., MD led the celebration of 35 years of innovation by recounting the establishment of Glaucoma Research Foundation through the vision of Robert N. Shaffer, MD (1912-2007) and the generosity of patients Blanche Matthias and Bernice Hauck. With pride, each acknowledged their participation as Shaffer Fellows, and the training and placement of over 80 Shaffer Fellows, each a glaucoma specialist, throughout the world.


Dr. Stamper talks about new innovations

Robert L. Stamper, MD, Director of the Glaucoma Service at University of California, San Francisco delivered the keynote speech on "new innovations in glaucoma surgery." Dr. Stamper is also a member of GRF’s Board of Directors.

Honorary Advisory Board member F.T. Barr attended with his wife Melza. Almost 50 of the guests were loyal Catalyst Circle members on hand for the reception, dinner, and Dr. Stamper’s illuminating talk.

Special Recognition

Frank Stein and Paul S. May were recognized for their annual grant support, the Frank Stein and Paul S. May Grants for Innovative Glaucoma Research, a gift of $100,000 that supports three one-year pilot research projects.

Nobuko Saito Cleary and Gary Cleary, PharmD, PhD received recognition and heartfelt appreciation for their work on our Annual Benefit. For four years they have co-chaired the Benefit and Gala that is responsible for about 18% of the Foundation's income. Since 2009, the Clearys have led the way to over $2 million in funds generated by this annual event.

Adrienne Graves, PhD was recognized and thanked for her incredible dedication and enthusiasm as co-founder and co-chair of the Glaucoma 360 New Horizons Forum.


(L-R) Hoskins, Brunner, and Hetherington

The surprise of the evening was the presentation of GRF’s Visionary award to GRF President and CEO, Thomas M. Brunner.

Presented by GRF Board Chair Andrew Iwach, MD, the Visionary Award honors individuals with outstanding vision and commitment to a future free of glaucoma. Dr. Iwach cited Brunner's 10 years of leadership and commitment to GRF and his ongoing dedication to advancing glaucoma research.

See more photos from the event...

Last reviewed on October 29, 2017

Was this helpful? Yes No