Text Size

The GRF Council

The GRF Council is a national leadership group of glaucoma specialists dedicated to improving access to educational materials for all glaucoma patients.

GRF Councilors are advocates for patient education, assist with the development of educational materials, and make patient education a key component within their practice.

See a Map of Glaucoma Research Foundation Councilors.


Educational publications available from the Glaucoma Research Foundation include:

  • Childhood Glaucoma - Reference guide for parents and professionals involved in the care of children with glaucoma. - Download in PDF format

The value of patient education can be summarized as:

  • Improved understanding of one's medical condition, diagnosis, and disease
  • Improved understanding of methods and means to manage multiple aspects of glaucoma
  • Improved self-advocacy when working in cooperation with one's doctor
  • Increased Compliance - Effective communication and patient education increases patient motivation to comply
  • Patient Outcomes - Patients more likely to respond well to their treatment plan with fewer complications
  • Informed Consent - Patients feel the doctor has provided the information they need
  • Satisfaction and referrals - Patients more likely to stay with the doctor's practice and refer other patients

GRF Council Chairman


Carl Migliazzo, MD
Overland Park, Kansas (Central Regional Councilor)

GRF Regional Councilors

John S. Cohen, MD
Cincinnati, Ohio (Midwest Region)

Robert Feldman, MD
Houston, Texas (Southwest Region)

L. Jay Katz, MD
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Northeast Region)

Steve Litinsky, MD
Delray Beach, Florida (Southeast Region)

Charles McMahon, MD
Parker, Colorado (Mountain Region)

Michael Sakamoto, MD
Sacramento, California (Western Region)

Bradley Schuster, MD
Denver, Colorado (Mountain Region)

Oluwatosin "Tosi" Smith, MD
Dallas, Texas (Southwest Region)

Steven Vold, MD
Fayetteville, Arkansas (Southern Region)

Ruth Williams, MD
Wheaton, Illinois (Midwest Region)

GRF Councilors

Stuart F. Ball, MD
Mobile, Alabama

Robert J. Barnes, MD
Glen Ellyn, Illinois

Michael S. Berlin, MD
Beverly Hills, California

Kathryn Bollinger, MD
Augusta, Georgia

Steven V.L. Brown, MD, FACS
Glenview, Illinois

Dean Carlson, MD
Colorado Springs, Colorado

E. Randy Craven, MD
Baltimore, Maryland

Robert J. Derick, MD
Dublin, Ohio

Monte Dirks, MD
Rapid City, South Dakota

Amish Doshi, MD
Antioch, California

Doreen Fazio, MD
Van Nuys, California

Gloria P. Fleming, MD
Columbus, Ohio

David Gilbert, MD
Walnut Creek, California

Linda Greff, MD
Cincinnati, Ohio

Agnes Huang, MD
Seattle, Washington

Dan Jewelewicz, MD
Delray Beach, Florida

Martin B. Kaback, MD
Slingerlands, New York

Anup Khatana, MD
Cincinnati, Ohio

Douglas Kohl, MD
Boca Raton, Florida

Michael S. Korey, MD
Chicago, Illinois

Rohit Krishna, MD
Overland Park, Kansas

Rishi Kumar, MD
Louisville, Kentucky

Linda Lawrence, MD
Salina, Kansas

Richard Lehrer, MD
Alliance, Ohio

Anne Miller, MD
Cheyenne, Wyoming

Kevin Miller, MD
Las Vegas, Nevada

Johann Ohly, MD
Kansas City, Missouri

David J. Palmer, MD
Chicago, Illinois

Cindy Penzler, MD
Topeka, Kansas

James Plotnik, MD, FACS
Scottsdale, Arizona

Andrew Prince, MD
New York, New York

Andrew Rabinowitz, MD
Phoenix, Arizona

George Reiss, MD
Glendale, Arizona

Keith Sanford, MD
San Antonio, Texas

Sonja W. Schluter, MD, MPH
Sonoma, California

Arthur L. Schwartz MD
Chevy Chase, Maryland

Donald Schwartz, MD
Long Beach, CA

Gail F. Schwartz, MD
Baltimore, Maryland

My Le Shaw, MD
Flint, Michigan

Rajesh Shetty, MD
Jacksonville, Florida

Charles Eric Shrader, MD
Wichita, Kansas

Michael Stiles, MD
Overland Park, Kansas

Shigemi Sugiki, MD
Honolulu, Hawaii

Thomas Tayeri, MD
Palo Alto, California

Brian Welcome, MD
Greenville, South Carolina

Mark Werner, MD
Delray Beach, Florida

Jeffrey Zink, MD
Cincinnati, Ohio

Was this helpful? Yes No