Kuldev Singh, MD, MPH

  • Share

Board Chair


Kuldev Singh is Professor of Ophthalmology and Director, Glaucoma Service at the Stanford University School of Medicine. Dr. Singh received his MD and MPH degrees from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and was an Eleanor Naylor Dana Charitable Trust Fellow at the Wilmer Eye Institute.

He completed his ophthalmology residency at the Casey Eye Institute, Oregon Health and Science University followed by a Heed Foundation Fellowship focusing on glaucoma at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute in Miami. Dr. Singh has published over 100 peer-reviewed articles, monographs and book chapters and has delivered over 200 invited lectures on six continents. He has edited two textbooks and served on the editorial board of nine ophthalmic publications.

Dr. Singh’s current research interests focus on glaucoma surgical trials, glaucoma genetics, the epidemiology of glaucomatous disease and health care delivery in developing countries. His clinical practice focuses on the medical, laser and surgical management of glaucoma, and the surgical management of cataract in patients with glaucoma.

Dr. Singh serves on the Board of Directors of the American Glaucoma Society and will begin a two year term as Vice President/President-Elect in 2011. He is currently Executive Vice President of the World Glaucoma Association and is a member of the Medical Advisory Board for Unite for Sight. Dr. Singh has served as Chair and Methodologist for the glaucoma section of the Ophthalmic Technology Assessment Panel of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) and was Glaucoma Subspecialty Day Co-Chair at the 2002 and 2003 AAO Meetings.

He received the Senior Achievement Award from AAO in 2005, and Secretariat Awards in 2006 and 2009, the former for his work as a media spokesperson for the AAO. He was a member of the team that won first prize in the Cataract Surgery section of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery Challenge Cup in 2006. Dr. Singh served as an Academic Advising Dean at the Stanford University School of Medicine from 2002-2005 and is currently serving his second term as an elected member of the Faculty Senate. He was the sole recipient of the Franklin G. Ebaugh Jr. Award presented at the 2006 Stanford commencement ceremonies.

Dr. Singh joined the GRF Board of Directors in 2007 and has been Board Chair since 2009. He also serves as Chair of the GRF Patient Education Council.

Was this helpful? Yes No